top of page
  • Writer's pictureSantiago Muguiro

Factors that impact my writing

Updated: Aug 7, 2023



One of the earliest stories that had a significant impact on my imagination was the legendary tale of King Arthur and his knights. Although I was quite young at the time and couldn't comprehend a complex work like Le Morte D'Arthur, I felt a strong desire to read it. One day, I stumbled upon an old, dusty copy of Henry Gilbert's adaptation for children in my grandfather's library. I read it repeatedly and the stories of bravery and honor stuck with me throughout my childhood.


When I was younger, my mother read fairy tales to me and I continued reading them to my brother as I grew up. I always appreciated the values that were portrayed in these stories, and I found many similarities between them and the tales of King Arthur.

When I was young, I was captivated by the tale of The Lord of the Rings. Although I had only watched the films multiple times, I realized I lacked an essential element. Thus, I decided to read the book and make every effort to comprehend all the details.


At first, I thought reading this book would be a breeze. However, I soon discovered that the beginning was quite challenging for me to comprehend. While the intricate details of the story were captivating, I struggled to pick up the book again after putting it down. After taking a break and reading some lighter material, I returned to the book and was able to finish it. Although this book may not be difficult to some, I was still young at the time and it served as a gateway to other more complex literature.


I found exactly what I was searching for in The Lord of the Rings. The themes in the story really connected with me, especially those that reminded me of the simpler tales I enjoyed as a child, such as fairy tales and myths, these from a different place and time, from the north. However, there was also a deeper philosophical aspect to the story that ultimately influenced my own works.


I have enjoyed many other works in the past, such as the Tarzan series by Edgar Rice Burroughs and Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell, but they did not significantly influence my writing, despite being among my favorites.


SAPIENTIA ET VENUSTAS

Santiago Muguiro



2 views0 comments
bottom of page